Announcement of BACS Best Doctoral Thesis Prize Winner

This year seventeen stellar entries were received for the BACS Best Doctoral Thesis Prize, covering Chinese film, politics, imperial history, modern history, literature, sociology and anthropology with theses completed at Birmingham, Cambridge, Edinburgh, King’s, Leeds, LSE, Manchester, Oxford, Sheffield and York. The panel members Chris Berry (Chair), Naomi Standen and Stephan Feuchtwang, were immensely impressed by the richness of the field.

The winner for 2021 is Dr Stuart Wright with Governing Social Change in Amdo: Tibetans in the Era of Compulsory Education and School Consolidation completed in the School of East Asian Studies at the University of Sheffield.