BACS Council


Naomi Standen, University of Birmingham (2017-)

Honorary Secretary:

Paul Kendall, University of Westminster (2017)


Daniel Hammond, University of Edinburgh (2015)


Council Members:

Cosima Bruno, SOAS, University of London (2015-)

Marjorie Dryburgh, University of Sheffield (2015-)

Leon Rocha, University of Liverpool (2015-)

Stephen McDowall, University of Edinburgh (2016-)

Kerry Brown, King’s College London (2017-)

Andreas Fulda, University of Nottingham (2017-)

Xiaoning Lu, SOAS, University of London (2017-)

Neil Munro, University of Glasgow (2017-)

Gregory Scott, University of Manchester (2017-)



Editor, BACS Bulletin:


BACS-Taiwan Scholarships:

Marjorie Dryburgh

Web Manager:

Stephen McDowall

Social Media:

Leon Rocha


Co-opted Council Members:


Association for Speakers of Chinese as a Second Language Representative:

Giles Blackburne, China Britain Business Council and University of Leeds

British Chinese Language Teaching Society Representative:

Don Starr, University of Durham

British Postgraduate Network for Chinese Studies Representative:

Josepha Richard, University of Sheffield

Schools Liaison Officer:

Katharine Carruthers, Institute of Education, University of London